THE SECRETARY OF VETERANS AFFAIRS WASHINGTON



June 20, 2025

The Honorable Richard Blumenthal Ranking Member Committee on Veterans' Affairs United States Senate Washington, DC 20210

Dear Senator Blumenthal:

Thank you for your April 2, 2025, co-signed letter to the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) urging VA to request a waiver for the entire Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) from President Donald J. Trump's March 27, 2025, executive order (EO), Exclusions from Federal Labor-Management Relations Programs. I appreciate the opportunity to respond to your letter.

President Trump gave me simple instructions when he offered me the role of Secretary. He told me to take great care of Veterans. As such, everything I do is to ensure Veterans receive the care and services they deserve and instill a lasting culture of caring, customer service, and accountability at VA that always puts Veterans first.

However, this also means ensuring that the time, energy, and focus of VA employees is on the mission of helping Veterans and not on collective bargaining. I have looked closely at the issue. As a result, VA moved forward with the implementation of the President's EO with very limited exceptions.

I suspended the application of 1-402 or 1-404 of EO 12171, as amended, thereby bringing such employees under the coverage of the Federal Service Labor-Management Relations statute for the employees represented by the following:

- 1. Laborers International Union of North America;
- 2. Western Federation of Nurses and Health Professionals, Veterans Affairs Staff Nurse Council Local 5032 at the VA medical center Milwaukee, Wisconsin;
- 3. International Association of Fire Fighters (IAFF-99) at the VA medical center, Little Rock, Arkansas;
- 4. United Nurses Association of California/Union of Healthcare Professionals at the VA Medical Center, Loma Linda, California;
- 5. Teamsters Union Local 115 at the VA medical center, Coatesville, Pennsylvania;

Page 2.

The Honorable Richard Blumenthal

- 6. International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 2168 at the VA medical center, Cheyenne, Wyoming; and
- 7. International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers Local 1998 at the VA National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific in Honolulu, Hawaii.

I look forward to taking care of the Nation's Veterans by making sure VA is in a situation where it is actually doing that, has the resources it needs, and creates the efficiencies it needs to best serve Veterans.

A courtesy copy of my response is being sent to the cosigners of your letter Thank you for your continued support of the Nation's Veterans.

Sincerely, Douglas A. Collins.

Cc: The Honorable Jerry Moran The Honorable Mike Bost The Honorable Mark Takano The Honorable Patty Murray The Honorable Delia C. Ramirez The Honorable Stephen F. Lynch The Honorable Henry C. "Hank" Johnson Jr. The Honorable Nikki Budzinski The Honorable Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick The Honorable Haley M. Stevens The Honorable Shri Thanedar The Honorable Donald Norcross The Honorable Kristen McDonald Rivet The Honorable Angle Craig The Honorable Greg Casar The Honorable Lloyd Doggett The Honorable Jill Tokuda The Honorable Emanuel Cleaver II The Honorable Paul Tonko The Honorable Joseph D. Morelle The Honorable Glenn Ivey

Page 3.

The Honorable Richard Blumenthal

The Honorable Sarah McBride The Honorable Herbert C. Conaway Jr. The Honorable Brad Sherman The Honorable Chrissy Houlahan The Honorable Julie Johnson The Honorable Gabe Amo The Honorable Jennifer L. McClellan The Honorable Ko Khanna The Honorable Rashida Tlaib The Honorable James P. McGovern The Honorable Nikema Williams The Honorable Andrea Salinas The Honorable Jacky Rosen The Honorable Derek T. Tran The Honorable Robert Garcia The Honorable Yassamin Ansari The Honorable Catherine Cortez Masto The Honorable George Whitesides The Honorable Robert C. "Bobby" Scott The Honorable Tim Kaine The Honorable Jack Reed The Honorable Mark DeSaulnier The Honorable Mazie K. Kirono The Honorable Judy Chu The Honorable Seth Moulton The Honorable Thomas R. Suozzi The Honorable Kelly Morrison The Honorable Chellie Pingree The Honorable Terri A. Sewell The Honorable Tammy Duckworth The Honorable Sylvia Garcia The Honorable Steve Cohen The Honorable Troy A Carter The Honorable Al Green The Honorable Edward J. Markey The Honorable Sean Casten The Honorable Doris Matsui The Honorable Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. The Honorable Lateefah Simon The Honorable Richard Durbin The Honorable Maxine Dexter The Honorable Alex Padilla

Page 4.

The Honorable Richard Blumenthal

The Honorable Elissa Slotkin The Honorable Yvette D. Clarke The Honorable Frederica Wilson The Honorable Adam Schiff The Honorable Debbie Wasserman Schultz The Honorable Eleanor Holmes Norton The Honorable Sydney Kamlager-Dove The Honorable Bennie G. Thompson The Honorable Nanette Diaz Barragán The Honorable Chris Deluzio The Honorable Salud Carbaial The Honorable Timothy M. Kennedy The Honorable Greg Landsman The Honorable Morgan McGarvey The Honorable Veronica Escobar The Honorable Marc A. Veasey The Honorable Brendan F. Boyle The Honorable Val Hoyle The Honorable Jan Schakowsky The Honorable Frank Pallone Jr. The Honorable Chris Van Hollen The Honorable Bernard Sanders The Honorable Laura Friedman The Honorable Jeffrey A. Merkley The Honorable Adam Smith The Honorable William R. Keating The Honorable Sheldon Whitehouse The Honorable Richard E. Neal The Honorable Lucy McBath The Honorable Eric Swalwell The Honorable Suzanne Bonamici The Honorable Betty McCollum The Honorable Eugene Simon Vindman The Honorable Nydia M. Velázquez The Honorable Robin L. Kelly The Honorable Sanford D. Bishop Jr. The Honorable Miki Sherill The Honorable Julia Brownley The Honorable Dwight Evans The Honorable Jesús G. "Chuy" Garcia The Honorable Dina Titus The Honorable Greg Stanton The Honorable Maggie Goodlander The Honorable Mike Levin

Page 5.

The Honorable Richard Blumenthal

The Honorable Mary Gay Scanlon The Honorable Josh Gottheimer The Honorable Seth Magaziner The Honorable Kevin Mullin The Honorable La Monica McIver The Honorable Diana DeGettee The Honorable Angela Alsobrooks The Honorable Gilbert Ray Cisneos Jr. The Honorable Madeleine Dean The Honorable Chris Pappas The Honorable Mike Thompson The Honorable André Carson The Honorable Ron Wyden The Honorable Raja Krishnamoorthi The Honorable Norma J. Torres The Honorable Cory A. Booker The Honorable Kweisi Mfume The Honorable Linda T. Sánchez The Honorable Kathy Castor The Honorable Ted W. Lieu The Honorable Martin Heinrich The Honorable Danny K. Davis The Honorable Gary C. Peters