BUSINESS MEETING TO CONSIDER PENDING NOMINATION

WEDNESDAY, JUNE 5, 2019

U.S. SENATE, COMMITTEE ON VETERANS' AFFAIRS *Washington, DC.*

The Committee met, pursuant to notice, at 11:15 a.m., in room 216, U.S. Capitol Building, Hon. Johnny Isakson, (Chairman of the Committee) presiding.

Present: Senators Isakson, Tester, Blackburn, Blumenthal, Boozman, Cassidy, Manchin, Rounds, Sinema, Sullivan, Brown and Murray.

Chairman ISAKSON. I call this meeting to order of the Committee on Veterans' Affairs. I invite a motion to the pending business, the nomination of James M. Byrne as deputy secretary of the Department of Veterans Affairs.

I recognize Senator Tester to make a motion.

Senator TESTER. Thank you Mr. Chairman. I make the following motion: That the Committee favorably report the nomination of James M. Byrne to be deputy secretary of the Department of Veterans Affairs.

Chairman ISAKSON. Is there a second?

Senator ROUNDS. Second.

Chairman ISAKSON. All in favor?

(Chorus of ayes.)

Chairman ISAKSON. All opposed?

Senator MURRAY. No.

Chairman ISAKSON. Would the no vote like to be reported?

Senator MURRAY. Yes.

Senator ISAKSON. The clerk will call the roll.

The CLERK. Mr. Moran?

Chairman ISAKSON. Aye, by proxy.

The CLERK. Mr. Boozman?

Senator BOOZMAN. Aye.

The CLERK. Mr. Cassidy?

Senator CASSIDY. Aye.

The CLERK. Mr. Rounds?

Senator ROUNDS. Aye. The CLERK. Mr. Tillis? Chairman ISAKSON. Aye, by proxy. The CLERK. Mr. Sullivan? Senator SULLIVAN. Aye. The CLERK. Mrs. Blackburn? Senator BLACKBURN. Aye. The CLERK. Mr. Cramer? Chairman ISAKSON. Aye, by proxy. The CLERK. Mr. Tester? Senator TESTER. Aye. The CLERK. Mrs. Murray? Senator MURRAY. No. The CLERK. Mr. Sanders? Senator TESTER. No, by proxy. The CLERK. Mr. Brown? Senator BROWN. No. The CLERK. Mr. Blumenthal? Senator BLUMENTHAL. Aye. The CLERK. Ms. Hirono? Senator TESTER. No, by proxy. The CLERK. Mr. Manchin? Senator MANCHIN. Aye. The CLERK. Ms. Sinema? Senator SINEMA. Ave. The CLERK. Mr. Chairman? Chairman ISAKSON. Aye. The CLERK. On this vote, the ayes are 13, the nays are 4. The nomination is agreed to. Chairman ISAKSON. If nobody else seeks recognition, this meeting is adjourned. [Whereupon, at 11:30 a.m., the Committee was adjourned.]

 $\mathbf{2}$